Continuing Education in North Carolina | The Affirmative Couch

Continuing Education in North Carolina

Psychologist (PhD/PsyD):

1. Do CEs from the Affirmative Couch count for my state and license?

Yes.

The Affirmative Couch, LLC is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. The Affirmative Couch, LLC maintains responsibility for this program and its content.

2. How many CEs are required by my state?

18 hours of continuing education (CE) every 2 years, including a minimum of 3 hours in ethics and law. At least 9 of the 18 CE credits must be in Category A.

Category A covers ethics, law and courses that upgrade skills in scope of practice. All 18 hours can be Category A.

9 hours maximum of Category B, courses that do not require a certificate of completion.

3. How many CEs can be taken online by my state?

All 18 hours can be completed online.

LMFT and LMFTA:

1. Do CEs from the Affirmative Couch count for my state and license?

No.

From the board website: THE NC MFT LICENSURE BOARD DOES NOT PRE-REVIEW OR PRE-APPROVE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES OR PROVIDERS.

LCSW, LCSWA, CSW, CMSW, and CSWM:

1. Do CEs from the Affirmative Couch count for my state and license?

No. All CEs for Social Workers in North Carolina need to be from an ASWB provider. The Affirmative Couch, LLC is not an ASWB provider at this time, but hopes to be in the future.

LPC, LPCA, and LPC Supervisors:

1. Do CEs from the Affirmative Couch count for my state and license?

Yes, but only up to 15 hours.

The Affirmative Couch, LLC is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. The Affirmative Couch, LLC maintains responsibility for this program and its content.

2. How many CEs are required by my state?Forty (40) continuing education (CE) hours every 2 years, including a minimum of 3 hours of ethics. LPC Supervisors must take a minimum of 10 hours in clinical supervision. This is in addition to the 40 hours for a total of 50 CE hours.

3. How many CEs can be taken online by my state?
Please contact the state board directly for specific guidelines.

Learn Affirmative Therapy

Check out our growing list of courses.

Courses